1

Autumn Term Calendar 2017

Friday 1st September

New staff induction day in Cooper Hall all day

Monday 4th September

Ski Squad trials at Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn all day

Staff meetings and INSET all day

Tuesday 5th September

Ski Squad trials at Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn all day

Staff meetings and INSET all day

Wednesday 6th September

TERM BEGINS

Reception boys’ home at 12 noon

Thursday 7th September

Individual music lessons begin for JS, MS and SS

5 Year Reunion – 2012 alumni and parents in Middle School Hall 6.45pm

Friday 8th September

Start of Year Service at St Peter’s Church, Belsize Square 9.00am

Saturday 9th September

Year 6 A and 1st XI v Arnold House School (A) 9.00am

Sunday 10th September

Year 6 A football squad to St George’s Park

Monday 11th September 

SLT in HM study 7.30am

Supervised prep and activities start in MS and SS

Music Ensemble Rehearsals begin

Year 6 all-play v Northbridge House School (A) 2.15pm

1st XI, 2nd XI and 3rd XI v City of London School (H) 2.30pm

Music Talk for parents – Music Apps that might help your son with his practice and exam preparations in Middle School Hall 6.45pm

Tuesday 12th September

Year 4 all-play  v Arnold House School (A) 2.30pm

New staff induction meeting re: Learning Support provision in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Year 7 Iceland trip talk in Cooper Hall 5.00pm

Meeting for parents of pupils in reception and Year 1 with class teachers at 6.45pm, followed by drinks in MS Hall 7.30pm

Wednesday 13th September

Roald Dahl Day lunch

MS/SS Parent Information meeting: How to support your son’s learning in Maths in MS Hall 6.45pm

Thursday 14th September

Year 8 Swanage trip departs from JS 7.45am

Year 5 all-play v Highgate School (H) 2.30pm

Sale of second-hand uniform in JS Hall 2.30-4.00pm

Meeting for parents of pupils in Year 2 and Year 3 with class teachers at 6.45pm followed by drinks in MS Hall at 7.30pm

Friday 15th September

Year 8 Swanage trip returns 4.00pm

Saturday 16th September

HSPA Welcome Back Family picnic Wilf Slack Sports Ground 1.00-4.00pm

Sunday 17th September

ESSKIA National Championships Qualifying race at Gosling sports Park, Welwyn

Monday 18th September

4th XI, 5th XI and 6th XI v City of London School (H) 2.30pm

Year 6 A & B v Wetherby School (H) 2.30pm

Year 6 C & D v Wetherby School (A) 2.30pm

Safeguarding Level 1 – ALL STAFF – Twilight Session (option 1) in Cooper Hall 4.10-7.30pm

Tuesday 19th September

Art Enrichment Day for MS all day

Year 8 Ecology Field Trip Hampstead Heath all day

Year 4 (all play) v Northbridge House School (A) 2.15pm

Meeting for parents of pupils in Years 4-8 with form teachers in form rooms 6.45pm

Meeting for Year 6 parents in Cooper Hall 6.45pm and Year 5 prents in Wathen Hall 7.15pm followed by drinks in MS Hall 7.30pm

Wednesday 20th September

1st XI and 2nd XI v Beechwood Park School (A) 2.30pm

3rd XI and 4th XI (9 a-side) v Beechwood Park school (H) 2.30pm

Year 6 A, C and D (7 a-side) v Beechwood Park School (H) 2.30pm

Year 6 B, E and F (7 a-side) v Beechwood Park (A) 2.30pm

Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall 4.15pm

Thursday 21st September

Year 5 (all play) v Northbridge House School (A) 2.15pm

SLT meeting in HM study 4.10pm

Friday 22nd September

Walk to School Day

Monday 25th September

BISS Indoor Championships at Hemel Snow Centre

Shakespeare Festival – Company workshop (Year 7) at Cecil Sharp House 1.30-4.00pm

Year 6 A an B (9 a-side) v Westminster Under (H) 2.30pm

Year 6 C and D (9 a-side) v Westminster Under (A) 3.00pm

HoDs meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Tuesday 26th September

Year 5A and B v Hereward House School (H) 2.15pm

Senior School Exhibition an Information Evening for parents in MS Hall 6.40-7.45pm

Wednesday 27th September

JS Parent Rep meeting in JS 8.00 am

1st XI and 3rd XI v Orley Farm School (A) 2.30pm

2nd XI v Orley Farm School (H) 2.30pm

Year 6 A and B (7 a-side) v Orley Farm School (H) 2.30pm

Year 6 C and D (7 a-side) v Orley Farm School (A) 2.30pm

ABRSM Closing date for entries 4.00pm

Year 6 Parents’ meetings in MS Hall 5.00-8.00pm

Thursday 28th September

National Poetry Day

HSPA Chairman’s Party for new reps 7.30pm

Friday 29th September

Macmillan Charity breakfast – Middle School only in middle School Hall 7.30-8.15am

Monday 2nd October

Harvest Festival Week

Year 6 C and D (7 a-side) v Lyndhurst House School (H) 2.30pm

Meeting of Computing and Digital Learning Strategy group in HM study 4.10pm

Tuesday 3rd October

Year 4 x 3 teams v Wetherby School (H) 2.30pm

Year 4 x 3 teams v Wetherby School (A) 2.30pm

Wednesday 4th October

1st XI v Wetherby School (A) 2.30pm

2nd XI and 3rd XI v Wetherby School (H) 2.30pm

4th XI and 5th XI v Lyndhurst House School (A) 2.30pm

Thursday 5th October

Year 4 Tournament at Lochinver House School 2.30pm

Year 5 A, B C and D teams v Arnold House School (H) 2.30pm

SLT meeting in HM study 4.10pm

French Exchange pre-trip meeting for boys and parents in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Friday 6th October

School Council meeting in room 37 1.25pm

MTS Prep School Maths afternoon for Year 7 (by invitation) at Merchant Taylor’s School

1st XI (6 a-side) Wetherby School Tournament (A) 1.00pm

Saturday 7th October

1st XI IAPS Regional Tournament (6 a-side) at Rokeby School (A) 9.00am

Monday 9th October

JS Open Homework week

Senior A and B v Westminster under School (H) 2.30pm

2nd XI v Westminster Under School (A) 3.00pm

TLC 2 Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Tuesday 10th October

SLT meeting in HM study 7.30am

3S Instrumental Concert in JS Hall 8.45am

Blue House Charity Bake Off cake sale in morning breaks

Year 4 (all-play) v Arnold House School (H) 2.30pm

6th Form Society with Mark Sebba in Cooper Hall at 5.15pm followed by dinner in MS Hall until 7.45pm

Wednesday 11th October

Y5 Trip to Handel House Museum All Day

3U Instrumental Concert in JS Hall 8.45am

Science Enrichment afternoon with Richard Cobden School in Science Labs 12.00-2.45pm

Lochinver House School U9 Chess Tournament at Lochinver House School – afternoon only

2nd XI and 3rd XI v Keeble School (H) 2.30 pm

Year 6 (4 x 7 a-side) v Sussex House School (A) 2.30pm

Safeguarding Level 1 – ALL STAFF – Twilight Session (option 2) in Cooper Hall 4.10 – 7.30pm

Governors’ Strategy meeting 5.30pm followed by Governors’ Dinner in MS Hall 7.30pm

Thursday 12th October

French Exchange trip departs from St Pancras Station – meet at 7.30am

Parent Computing and Digital Learning Forum in Cooper Hall 8.15am

3P Instrumental Concert in JS Hall 8.45am

National day of Spain lunch MS Hall

Nicola Morgan – Wellbeing Lecture – for Years 6, 7 & 8 afternoon only

Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall 4.15pm

Parent Information Evening, Nicola Morgan – Wellbeing talk in MS Hall 6.45pm

Friday 13th October

UNICEF World Education Games/World Maths Day

HSPA Year reps’ meeting MS/SS in Cooper Hall 8.15am

Saturday 14th October 

Year 4 A and Year 5 A Football Festival at Wilf Slack 8.45am

Sunday 15th October

French Exchange trip returns to St Pancras Station, arrives 4.05pm

Monday 16th October

1st XI and 2nd XI v Sussex House School (H) 2.30pm

Year 6 (all play 7 a-side) v Keble School (A) 2.30pm

MS/SS staff meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Tuesday 17th October

Shakespeare Festival – Tech and Dress Rehearsal – Year 7 by invitation The Pleasance 1.30-5.00pm

Year 4 A and B (8 a-side) v Hereward House School (H) 2.30pm

Music Staff Meeting in Music Room 2 4.30pm

Music Staff Parent evening in Cooper Hall 5.30pm

Shakespeare Festival – performance – Year 7 by invitation at The Pleasance 7.00pm

Wednesday 18th October

Year 6 ISEB pre-tests (in form groups)

1st XI and 2nd XI v Durston House School (A) 2.30pm

3rd XI and 4th XI v Durston House (H) 2.30pm

JS Staff Meeting 3.45pm

Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall 4.15pm

Cooper Reading Competition in MS Hall 5.15pm

Reception and Year 1 parents: How to support your son with his reading, in JS Hall 6.45pm

Thursday 19th October

Year 6 ISEB pre-tests (in form groups)

SLT HM study 4.00pm

Year 5 Parent Evening in MS Hall 5.00-8.00pm

Friday 20th October

Orange House Charity event for MS and SS

JS Special Assembly in MS Hall 8.45am

Monday 23rd October

HALF TERM

Monday 30th October  

Year 6 A, B, C and D v Arnold House School (A) 2.30pm

1st XI, 4th XI and 5th XI v Westminster Under School (H) 3.00pm

3rd XI, 6th XI and Senior A & B v Westminster Under School (A) 3.00pm

Safeguarding Committee meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Tuesday 31st October

SLT meeting in HM study 4.10pm

Wednesday 1st November

Year 6 Music and History Workshop at Wilf Slack morning only

4D trip to Southwark Cathedral 9.25-3.15pm

IStip Regional Training Day in Cooper Hall 9.30am

Sale of second-hand uniform in JS Hall 2.30-4.00pm

1st XI and 2nd XI v Arnold House School (H) 2.30pm

3rd XI and 4th XI v Arnold House School (A) 2.30pm

Talk for Year 4 parents ‘Changing Schools at 13+’ in MS Hall 6.45pm

Year 2 and Year 3 parents: How to support your son with his reading  in JS Hall 6.45pm

Thursday 2nd November

Year 8 Parents’ meeting (parents only) MS Hall 5.00-8.00pm

Parents’ Party for Kirsty Anderson at Wilf Slack 7.00pm

Friday 3rd November

4M and 4P trip to Southwark Cathedral 9.25-3.15pm

Firework lunch

Saturday 4th November

HSPA Firework event at Wilf Slack 6.00pm

Sunday 5th November

Chapel Choir rehearsal at 5.00pm

Chapel Choir Evensong at St Michael’s Church, Highgate 6.30pm

Monday 6th November

Year 8 Revision Week

Year 6 A, B, C and D (8 a-side) v Highgate School (A) 2.30pm

Learning and Teaching Strategy Group Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Tuesday 7th November

Year 2 Instrumental Concert part I in JS Hall 8.45am

Year 4 (all play) v Northbridge House School (H) 2.15pm

ABRSM Theory Exam in School 5.00pm

Parents’ Information Evening – Annual Review MS Hall 6.45pm

Wednesday 8th November

iSAMS photographers in school all day

Barnet U11 Chess League at NLCS

Year 2 Instrumental Concert part II in JS Hall 8.45am

1st XI and 2nd XI v Lochinver House School (A) 2.30pm

3rd XI and 4th XI v Lochinver House School (H) 2.30pm

Year 4 Parents’ Evening in MS Hall 4.15-7.45pm

Reception to Year 3 parents: How to support your son with his Maths 6.45pm

Thursday 9th November

Green House Charity Event  MS/SS first break

Year 4 (4 x 7 a-side) v Orley Farm School (A) 2.30pm  – Cancelled

Year 5 (3 teams) v Wetherby School (H) 2.30pm

Year 5 (3 teams) v Wetherby School (A) 2.30pm

SLT meeting in HM study 4.10pm

Year 4 Parents’ Evening MS Hall 4.15-7.45pm

Governors’ Finance Committee meeting in HM study 5.30pm

Friday 10th November

Walk to School Day

Service of Remembrance for Years 4 to 8 St Mary’s Primrose Hill 10.45am

School Council meeting in room 37 1.25pm

Monday 13th November

Open Homework Week – Years 4-7

Year 6 (all play) v Northbridge House School (H) 2.30pm

Health and Safety meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

HSPA AGM – guest speaker Professor Mark Bailey, High Master of

St Paul’s School, in MS Hall 6.45pm

Tuesday 14th November

Year 8 mock exams

Quiz Club Science heats at The Swaminarayan School 2.00-3.00pm

Nursery Heads’ tea at 2 Buckland Crescent 4.00pm

Year 7 Parents’ Evening in MS Hall (for parents only) 5.00-8.00pm

Wednesday 15th November

Year 8 mock exams

1st XI Football v St Anthony’s (A) 2.30 pm

2nd and 3rd XI Football v St Anthony’s (H) 2.30 pm

Year 6 A, B and C v Lochinver House School (A) 2.30pm

Year 6 D, E and F v Lochinver House School (H) 2.30pm

Thursday 16th November

Year 8 mock exams

Primary Maths Challenge for Years 5 and 6 in lessons

NSPCC Assembly – Assembly and Lifeskills

Year 5 (all play) v Northbridge House School (H) 2.15pm

Friday 17th November 

Year 8 mock exams

Saturday 18th November

ECF U11 Chess Championship Zone

Monday 20th November

Purple House Initiatives Week

Middle School & Y6 Class Concerts & Competition Heats in the Music School

Year 6 A, B and C v St Anthony’s School (H) 2.30pm

Year 6 D, E and F v St Anthony’s School (A) 2.30pm

Meeting of Computing and Digital Learning Strategy Group in HM study 4.10pm

Academic HoDs Meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Tuesday 21st November

SLT meeting in HM study 7.30am

Reception to Year 3 parent meetings in JS 3.45-7.00pm

Senior School Concert in Wathen Hall 5.30pm

Wednesday 22nd November

1st Football v Westbrook Hay (H) 2.30 pm

3rd Football v Westbrook Hay (7 a-side) (H) 2.30 pm

Senior group Football v Westbrook Hay (7 a-side) (H) 2.30 pm

Reception to Year 3 parent meetings in JS 3.45-7.00pm

Thursday 23rd November

Year 6 History trip to Canterbury Cathedral all day

Parent Computing and Digital Learning Forum in Cooper Hall 8.15am

Year 5 A, B, C and D (7 a-side) v Orley Farm School (A) 3.15pm

Governors’ meeting in Cooper Hall 5.30pm

Friday 24th November

HSPA Year reps’ meeting MS/SS in Cooper Hall 8.15am

Saturday 25th November

1st XI and Year 6 A Tournament at Durston House School 8.45am

Monday 27th November  

Semi Final Rounds for The Hall Outstanding Musician 2017 during morning Assemblies

Calendar meeting in room 28 4.10pm

Tuesday 28th November

Semi Final Rounds for The Hall Outstanding Musician 2017 during morning Assemblies

Year 6 trip – Centre of the Cell at the Blizard Institute all day

SLT meeting in HM study 4.10pm

Lecture@TheHall Manish Pandey – A Year in the Life of the McLaren Formula 1 Team in MS Hall 6.45pm

Wednesday 29th November

Semi Final Rounds for The Hall Outstanding Musician 2017 during morning Assemblies

1st XI, 2nd XI and 3rd XI v UCS (H) 2.30pm

6th Form Society with author David Lough on ‘No More Champagne’, Churchill’s personal finances in Cooper Hall 5.15pm

Talk to parents with author David Lough on ‘No More Champagne’, Churchill’s personal finances at St Christopher’s School 7.00pm

Thursday 30th November

Ryman Enterprise Challenge  – Year 8 Wilf Slack all day

Semi Final Rounds for The Hall Outstanding Musician 2017 during morning Assemblies

Year 4-7 Life Skills Morning

Year 5 A, B, C and D v Arnold House School (A) 2.30pm

Friday 1st December  

The Hall Outstanding Musician 2017, Final Round Middle School in MS Hall  2.15pm

Staff Christmas Party

Monday 4th December

ABRSM EXAMS Cooper Hall all day

Year 7 and 8 House Matches at Wilf Slack 2.15pm

Year 6 A, B, C and D v Arnold House School (A) 2.30pm

SLT meeting in HM study 4.10pm

Tuesday 5th December

ABRSM EXAMS Cooper Hall all day

Middle School House Matches at Wilf Slack 2.15pm

Staff Leavers’ Reception evening

Wednesday 6th December 

ABRSM EXAMS Cooper Hall all day

Year 1 Christmas Play in JS Hall 9.00am

Year 6 House Matches at Wilf Slack 2.15pm

Year 7 and 8 House Matches at Wilf Slack 2.15pm

JS staff meeting 3.45pm

Thursday 7th December

French Exchange group arrives

Year 1 Christmas Play in JS Hall 9.00am

Keiskamma Music Outreach Project for all SS boys Wathen Hall session 6 & 7

Middle School House Matches at Wilf Slack

Maths Enrichment afternoon with Edith Neville Primary School in Wathen Hall 12.00-2.45pm

The Hall Outstanding Musician 2017, Senior School Final Round in Cooper Hall 5.30pm

Friday 8th December   

JS Carol Service at St Peter’s Church, Belsize Square 9.00am

Christmas lunch

Credits and BAFTA’s close 4.00pm

Sunday 10th December

French Exchange group departs

Monday 11th December  

Junior School Pantomime – Aladdin, in Middle School Hall 9.30am

Year 6 House Matches at Wilf Slack 2.15pm

Year 7 and 8 House Matches at Wilf Slack 2.15pm

Tuesday 12th December

Reception Christmas play in JS Hall 9.00am

MS/SS Carol Service at St Peter’s Church, Belsize Park 2.15pm

Wednesday 13th December

JS Special Assembly in MS Hall 8.45am

MS/SS Special Assembly in Wathen Hall 11.00am

TERM ENDS 12.15pm

Staff lunch MS Hall 12.45pm

Thursday 14th December

Year 4 – 7 Progress Reports published

Year 8 full Written Reports published

Thursday 4th January

TERM BEGINS