3

Spring Term Calendar 2017

Spring Term 2017

Wednesday 4th January

TERM BEGINS

Assembly theme – Reputation

Individual music lessons and groups resume from session 3

Thursday 5th January

Years 4, 5 & 6 General Knowledge Quiz Team selection in form time

Friday 6th January

Monday 9th January

Activities start

Year 6 trip to the Islamic Cultural Centre, Regent’s Park – all morning (This trip has been postponed)

Year 6 Music Scholars’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall 4.30pm

Tuesday 10th January

Selected staff only, Level 1 Safeguarding training in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Thursday 12th January

HSPA sale of second hand uniform in JS Hall 2.30-4.00pm

Learning and Teaching Strategy Group in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Friday 13th January

Townsend Warner Competition Paper I 8.25-9.25am

Parent Information session – The Rugby Pathway at The Hall in Cooper Hall 8.30am

Monday 16th January

JS & MS Ski Team training at Hemel Snow Cenre 1.30-6.30pm

SLT meeting in HM study 4.10pm

Tuesday 17th January

Rugby Year 4 – All Play  Arnold House School (A) 2.30pm

Computing Srategy Group 4.10pm

lecture@TheHall – Mark Benson, MS Hall 645pm

Wednesday 18th January

Rugby U13A and Year 6A v Orley Farm School (H) 2.30pm

Rugby U13B and Year 6B v Orley Farm School (A) 2.30pm

ABRSM eam entry deadline 4.00pm

Thursday 19th January

Governors’ Extra-Curricular Committee in HM study 4.15pm

Year 8 Music Scholars Informal Concert in Cooper Hall 5.15pm

Executive Committee of The Hall School Scout Group in Cooper Hall 7.30pm

Friday 20th January

Selected staff only, Level 1 Staff Safeguarding training in Cooper Hall 10.00am

Improv Club in the Pit 1.20-1.45pm

Monday 23rd January

Chapel Choir rehearsal all afternoon

Chapel Choir sing Choral Evensong at St Paul’s Cathedral 5.00pm

SS Ski Team training at Hemel Snow Centre 1.30-6.30pm

Tuesday 24th January

Rugby Year 4 – 3 teams v Wetherby Prep School (A) 2.30pm

Rugby Year 4 – 3 teams v Wetherby Prep School (H) 2.30pm

Wednesday 25th January

Rugby U13A and U12A v Arnold House School (H) 2.30pm

Hockey U13 A, B & C v Arnold House School (A) 2.30pm

Hockey Year 6 A & B v Westminster under School (H) 2.30pm

Barnet Primary Schools Chess League at NLCS 3.15-7.00pm

Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall 4.15pm

Thursday 26th January

Assessment day for Bursary applicants

TLC meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Friday 27th January

Walk to School Day

Chinese New Year celebration lunch

School Council meeting room 37 1.25pm

Monday 30th January

Chamber Music Festival: Master classes all day in Music School

Rugby Year 6 A, B & C v Northbridge House School (H) 2.30pm

Hockey Year 6 A & B v Northbridge House School (H) 2.30pm

HoDs meeting in MS Hall 4.10pm

Chamber Music Festival Concert in the Lecture Hall, University College School 7.00pm

Tuesday 31st January

Bryanston Science Activity day for selected Year 7 boys

SLT meeting in HM study 7,30am

3BC Instrumental Concert in JS Hall 8.45am

National Key Stage 2 General Knowledge Championship in Cooper Hall 2.00-3.00pm

Wednesday 1st February

3P Instrumental Concert in JS Hall 8.45am

Rugby U12 A & B v Durston House School (A) 2.30pm

Rugby U13 A & B v Durston House School (H) 2.30pm

Hockey U13 A, B & C v St Anthony’s School (A) 2.30pm

Thursday 2nd February

3H Instrumental Concert in JS Hall 8.45am

Rugby Year 5 A & B v Arnold House School (A) 2.30pm

Hockey Year 5 v Arnold House School (A) 2.30pm

Rugby Year 4 – 4 teams v Keble (H) 2.30pm

Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall 4.15pm

Governors’ Finance Commitee meeting in HM study 5.30pm

Friday 3rd February 

House Debating round 1 in the Pit and Cooper hall 1.25-1.50pm

Saturday 4th February

U13A Rugby v Arnold House, (A) 9:30am meet, 10:00am kick-off.  No school transport

Sunday 5th February

EPSCA Natinal Chess Championship Zone for U11 and U9 teams in MS Hall

Monday 6th February

Purple House Breakfast Week in the French Room all week

The Hall School Rugby Tournament Year 6 A & B (H) 2.00pm

Arnold House School Hockey Tournament U11 A & B (A) 2.30pm

Jazz Concert in The Forge, Camden Town 7.00pm

Tuesday 7th February

Internet Safety Day and Workshops

SLT meeting in HM study 7.30am

Online Safety talk for parents in Cooper Hall 8.30am

Rugby Year 4 All Play v Northbridge House School (A) 2.30pm

Rugby Year 5 A, B, C & D v Durston House School (A) 2.30pm

JS Staff meeting 3.45pm

Sixth Form Society in Cooper Hall, guest speaker James Harding 5.15pm followed by dinner in MS Hall until 7.45pm

Year 7 & 8 Progress Reports published

Wednesday 8th February

Rugby U13A v Wetherby Prep School (H) 2.30pm

Rugby U12A v Wetherby Prep School (A) 2.30pm

Year 5 Science trip – all day.  This trip is cancelled

MS/SS staff meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Thursday 9th February

Rugby Year 5 A, B C & D v Northbridge House School (A) 2.30pm

Health & Safety meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Friday 10th February

JS Special Assembly in MS Hall 8.45am

Maths Investigative Team Event, selected boys from Yr 5 & 6 with Brookfield Primary School, Camden at 12.20-3.00pm (Lunch then Wathen Hall)

House Debating round 2 in the Pit and Cooper Hall 1.25-1.50pm

Monday 13th February

HALF TERM

Monday 20th February

Assembly theme – Humanity

Year 8 revision week

Townsend Warner Competition Paper II 1.30-3.30pm

Hockey Year 6 A, B & C v St Anthony’s School (A) 2.30pm

Rugby Year 6 A & B v St Anthony’s School (H) 2.30pm

Tuesday 21st February

SLT meeting in HM study 7.30am

Year 6 trip to the Paul Nash Exhibition at Tate Britain 9.15-1.00pm

Rugby Year 4 All Play v Arnold House School (H) 2.30pm

Wednesday 22nd February

Rugby U13A 7 a-side v Keble (H) 2.30pm

Rugby U12A 7 a-side v Keble (H) 2.30pm

Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall 4.15pm

Public Speaking Competition in MS Hall 5.15pm

Thursday 23rd February

Bedford School ‘The Chemistry Around Us’ lecture Years 5, 6 & 7 Science Team

Ski trip parent meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

HSPA Quiz Night in MS Hall 7.00 for 7.30pm

Friday 24th February

Year 4 Variety Show dress rehearsal in MS Hall 2.00-3.45pm

Saturday 25th February 

Year 6A Rugby 9 a-side Tournament at Durston House, 9:15 am kick-off

EPSCA National Chess Championship Zone for U11 and U9 teams in MS Hall

Monday 27th February

SLT meeting in HM study 4.10pm

Tuesday 28th February

Year 8 mock exams

Year 1 Instrument Concert part I in JS Hall 8.45am

Pancake Day lunch

Wednesday 1st March 

Year 8 mock exams

JS Parent reps’ meeting in JS 8.00am

Year 1 Instrumental Concert part II in JS Hall 8.45am

St David’s Day lunch

Rugby U13 A & B v Thomas’s Battersea School (H) 2.30pm

HSPA sale of second hand uniform in JS Hall 2.30-4.00pm

ABRSM, Theory Exam in school 5.00pm

Thursday 2nd March

Year 8 mock exams

World Book Day

Hockey 5 – 2 teams Orchard House Tournament (A) 2.00pm

Rugby Year 5 – 4 teams v Wetherby Prep School (H) 2.30pm

Pupils’ Informal Concert in Music Room 2 4.15pm

Governors’ meeting in Cooper Hall 5.30pm

Friday 3rd March

Year 8 mock exams

Computing Forum in Cooper Hall 8.15am

Year 4 Variety Show in MS Hall 9.15am

School Council meeting in Room 37 1.25pm

Saturday 4th March

Rugby & Hockey U12A & Year 6A v Arnold House School (H) 10.00am

Monday 6th March

Middle School and Year 6 class concerts during music lessons all week

Middle School Concert rehearsals in Wathen Hall during the day

Computing Strategy Group meeting in HM study 4.10pm

Middle School Concert in Wathen Hall 5.30pm

Tuesday 7th March

Blue House Good Deed Day

SLT in HM study 7.30am

Year 2 Instrumental concert part I in JS Hall 8.45am

UK Maths Team Challenge at City of London School 10.00-3.00pm

The Hall School Rugby Tournament Year 4A 8 a-side (H) 2.00pm

Safeguarding Committee meeting in HM study 4.10pm

Year 6 parent meeting in MS Hall 5.00-8.00pm

Wednesday 8th March

IStip NQT Regional Training Day in Cooper Hall – all day

Year 4 Science trip to London Zoo – all day

Year 2 Instrumental Concert part II in JS Hall 8.45am

Senior School Cross Country – The Hub, Regent’s Park 2.15pm

Reception to Year 3 staff/parent meeting in JS 3.45-7.00pm

Academic HoDs meeting in top Science Lab 4.10pm

Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall 4.15pm

2007 Leavers 10 Year Reunion in MS Hall 6:45 pm

Thursday 9th March

Year 6 Geography and Art enrichment, cross curricular day in School

Middle School Cross Country – The Hub, Regent’s Park 2.15pm

Reception to Year 3 staff/parent meeting in JS 3.45-7.00pm

Music School staff meeting 4.15pm

Music School staff/parents’ meeting in Cooper Hall 5.30-6.30pm

Friday 10th March

Walk to School Day

Year 5 History trip to Windsor Castle – all day

HSPA Year reps meeting in Cooper Hall 8.10am

Governors’ and SLT extended meeting 1.00-4.00pm

Saturday 11th March

Year 8A Rugby 7 a-side Tournament at Durston House, 9:15 am kick-off

Monday 13th March

Year 4 Mexicolore workshop in Cooper Hall 9.00-12.20pm

Calendar meeting in room 28 4.10pm

Senior Schools Exhibition in MS Hall 6.45pm

Tuesday 14th March

International Pi Day

SLT in HM study 7.30am

3P Easter play in the JS Hall 9.00am

Everything Pie lunch

Improv Club in the Pit 1.20-1.45pm

Rugby Year 4 All Play v Northbridge House School (H) 2.30pm

JS Staff meeting 3.45pm

Years 5 & 6 Roald Dahl Skit Show dress rehearsal in Wathen Hall 4.00-5.00pm

MS/SS staff meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Years 5 & 6 Roald Dahl Skit Show in Wathen Hall 7.15pm

Wednesday 15th March

ABRSM exams in Cooper Hall

3H Easter play in JS Hall 9.00am

Rugby U13 A & B 7 a-side – Arnold House School Tournament (A) 2.30pm

Hockey U13 A & B 7 a-side – Arnold House School Tournament (A) 2.30pm

Barnet Primary Schools Chess League at NLCS 3.15-7.00pm

Thursday 16th March

ABRSM exams in Cooper Hall

Year 2 Easter play in JS Hall 9.00am

Rugby Year 5 A, B, C and D v Northbridge House School (H) 2.30pm

Year 8 parent meeting in MS Hall 5.00-8.00pm

Friday 17th March

ABRSM exams in Cooper Hall

Year 2 Easter play in JS Hall 9.00am

St Patrick’s Day lunch

Brookfield Primary School Science visit – Year 8

Interschools Ski Challenge, Pila, Italy 17th – 22nd March

Joint Cubs/Scout Camp – 17th -19th March

Monday 20th March

Life Skills Conference morning – Careers

Rugby Year 6 A & C v Wetherby Prep School (H) 2.30pm

Rugby Year 6 B & D v Wetherby Prep School (A) 2.30pm

HoDs meeting in Cooper Hall 4.10pm

Tuesday 21st March

Geography trip to Iceland depart

3BC Easter play in JS Hall 9.00am

Rugby Year 5 – 4 teams v Durston House School (H) 2.30pm

MS/SS The Big Sing 2017, St. Michael’s Church, Highgate 7.00pm

Wednesday 22nd March

JS Special Assembly in MS Hall 8.45am

MS/SS Special Assembly in Wathen Hall 11.00am

TERM ENDS 12.15pm

Staff lunch 12.45pm

Years 4 – 5 full reorts published on parent portal 5.00pm

Final Cubs/ Scouts Meeting of the term

Thursday 23rd March

Friday 24th March

Geography trip to Iceland returns

Saturday 25th March

Ski trip to Austria departs