1

Spring Term Calendar 2019

Monday 7th January

Staff meetings and INSET all day

Tuesday 8th January

TERM BEGINS

MS/SS Assembly theme – Remember individual music lessons and groups resume from session 3 in Music School

6.45 pm Music Tour of South Africa meeting with tour organiser in Cooper Hall

Wednesday 9th January

4.10 pm SLT meeting in HM study

Thursday 10th January

Friday 11th January

8.30-9.30 am Townsend Warner History Prize Yr7-8 Paper I in Cooper Hall

8.50-12.55 pm Poetry workshop for Years 5-6 in MS Hall

10 am Years 4-5 After School Club (ASC) sign up morning in Wathen Hall

10.35 am Years 6-8 After School Club (ASC) sign up morning in Wathen Hall

2.30-4 pm HSPA second hand uniform sale in JS Hall

Saturday 12th January

Sunday 13th January

Monday 14th January

After school Clubs start in MS & SS

JS Clubs start

2.30 pm Rugby Year 6 A, B & C v Devonshire House School (A)

Tuesday 15th January

All day Year 6 Oppidan interview practise day in Cooper Hall

7.30 am SLT meeting in HM Study

2.30 pm Rugby Year 4 all-play v Arnold House School (A)

Wednesday 16th January

2.30 pm Hockey U13 A & B v St John’s School (A)

2.30 pm Hockey U13 C, D & E v St John’s School (H)

2.30 pm Rugby Year 8 A v Orley Farm School (H)

2.30 pm Rugby Year 6 A v Orley Farm School (H)

2.30 pm Rugby Year 7 A v Devonshire House School (H)

2.30 pm Year 8 B v Orley Farm School (A)

2.30 pm Year 6 B v Orley Farm School (A)

4 pm ABRSM closing dates for entries (half term examinations)

6.45 pm lecture@TheHall – Mishal Husain ‘The Skills’ in MS Hall

Thursday 17th January

4.15 pm Governors Meeting – Extra Curricular in HM study

7.30 pm Scout Executive Committee meeting in room 27

Friday 18th January

12.40-1.30 pm MS Poetry Slam in Cooper Hall

1.20 pm Extended SLT meeting in HM Study

Saturday 19th January

9-1 pm Saturday Club in SS classrooms

Sunday 20th January

National Chess Championship Qualifier in Finchley

Monday 21st January

4.10 pm HoDs meeting in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 22nd January

2.30 pm Rugby Year 4 all play v St Anthony’s School (H)

4.10 pm Safeguarding Commitee meeting in HM Study

5 pm Latin & Greek Reading Competition Finals in MS Hall

Wednesday 23rd January

2.30 pm Rugby Year 7 B v St Anthony’s School (A)

2.30 pm Hockey Year 6 A & B v Westminster Under School (H)

2.30 pm Hockey U13 A, B & C v Arnold House School (A)

4 pm ABRSM closing dates for entries (end of term examinations)

5 pm Rugby Year 7 A v Arnold House School at Allianz

5.15 pm Year 8 Music Scholars Informal Concert in Cooper Hall

6 pm Rugby Year 8 A v Arnold House School at Allianz

Thursday 24th January

All day Year 6 History Trip to Canterbury Cathedral Canterbury

Technology Enrichment Trip to BETT Fair – Y4-8 (8 boys out)

Bursary Candidates – Assessment Day in JS

7.30 am SLT in HM Study

2.30 pm Rugby Year 5 – 3 teams v St Anthony’s School (H)

Friday 25th January

Walk to School Day

SS Art Enrichment Day with artist Alice Shirley

7.30-8 am Purple House Charity Breakfast. MS & SS boys and parents from all Houses are welcome. All proceeds to the Alzheimer’s Society.

1.25 pm School Council meeting in room 37

1.20-2 pm SS Poetry Slam in Cooper Hall

Saturday 26th January

Sunday 27th January 

Monday 28th January

9-12.20 pm Mexicolore Workshop for Year 4 in Cooper Hall

2.30 pm Rugby Year 6 A, B C & D v Northbridge House School (H)

2.30 pm Hockey Year 6 A & B v Northbridge House School (H)

4.10 pm Learning and Teaching Strategy Group meeting in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 29th January

All day Classics Society visit to Museum of London & walk of Roman London

Wednesday 30th January

2.30 pm Rugby Year 8 B v St Anthony’s School (A)

2.30 pm Hockey U13 A & C v St Anthony’s School (A)

2.30 pm Hockey U13 B v UCS (H)

2.45 pm Rugby Year 7 A v Durston House School (H)

2.45 pm Rugby Year 7 B v Durston House School (H)

2.45 pm Rugby Year 8 A v Durston House School (H)

4.15 pm Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall

Thursday 31st January

2-3.30 pm Debating Enrichment – Christ Church Primary School in Cooper Hall

2.30 pm Rugby Year 5 A & B v Arnold House School (A)

2.30 pm Rugby Year 4 – 4 teams v Keble School (H)

4.10 pm SLT meeting in HM Study

Friday 1st January

1.25-1.50 pm House Debating Competition – 1st Round in The Pit and Cooper Hall

Saturday 2nd February

Sunday 3rd February

National Championship Chess Qualifier in Finchley

Monday 4th February

Children’s Mental Health Week

2 pm Rugby Tournament – Year 6 A & B (H)

2.30 pm Hockey Tournament – Year 6 A & B v Arnold House School (A)

4.10 pm MS/SS Staff Meeting in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 5th February

2.15 pm Rugby Year 4 – all-play v North Bridge House (A)

2.45 pm Rugby Year 5 – 4 teams v Durston House School (A)

Wednesday 6th February

11.30-12.20 pm LPO Story telling Year 4 & Partnership school in Cooper Hall

2.30 pm Rugby Year 8 A & B v Wetherby School (H)

2.30 pm Rugby Year 7 A & B v Wetherby School (A)

2.45 pm Hockey U13 A, B & C v Durston House School (H)

4.15 pm Pupils Informal Concert Cooper Hall

5 pm ABRSM Grade 5 theory examination in school

Thursday 7th February

9-1.15 pm 4M and 4P trip to Old Operating Theatre

10.35 am Orange House Fundraiser

2.15 pm Rugby Year 5 all-play v North Bridge House (A)

4.15 pm F&GP Governors meeting HM study

5 pm Year 7 Iceland pre-trip meeting in Cooper Hall

Friday 8th February

All day Online Safety Day Assembly and Workshops in JS Hall

8.25 am KS2 General Knowledge Quiz Team Selection Quiz in Classrooms

8.50-12.55 pm MyStart Creative Arts & Music Workshop Morning for Year 7 in Cooper Hall, Wathen Hall, Classrooms

9-1.15 pm 4D trip to Old Operating Theatre

1.25-1.50 pm House Debating Competition 2nd Round in The Pit and Cooper Hall

Saturday 9th February

Saturday Club SS Classrooms

Sunday 10th February

Monday 11th February

2.30 pm Rugby Year 6 A, B & C v St Anthony’s School (H)

2.30 pm Hockey Year 6 A & B St Anthony’s School (H)

4.10 pm TLC

Tuesday 12th February

All day Year 6 Geography and Science trip to the Science and History Museums

7.30 am SLT in HM study

2.30 pm Rugby Year 4 all-play v Arnold House School (H)

5.15 pm Public Speaking competition in MS Hall

Wednesday 13th February

1.30-3.30 pm Townsend Warner History Prize Years 7-8 Paper II in History room

3 pm Hockey Year 6 A & B v Westminster Under School (A)

4.10 pm Computing and Digital Strategy Group meeting in HM Study

5.30 pm MS Concert in Wathen Hall

Thursday 14th February

10 am ABRSM exam in Cooper Hall

4.10 pm Health and Safety Meeting

4.15 pm Pupil’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall

Friday 15th February

8 am Parent Computing Forum in Cooper Hall

8.45 am JS Special Assembly in MS Hall

2 pm Grandparents’ Afternoon Tea in Reception

2.05-3.45 pm Year 4 Variety Show Dress Rehearsal MS Hall

2.15 pm Cross Country U13 & Year 6 v Arnold House School (A)

4 pm Year 5 & 7 Full Reports published

Saturday 16th February

Sunday 17th February

Monday 18th February

HALF TERM

Monday 25th February

MS/SS Assembly theme – Celebration

Year 8 Revision Week

2.30 pm Rugby Year 6 A, B, C & D v Thomas’s Battersea (A)

2.30 pm Hockey Year 6 A, B, C v Arnold House School (H)

2.30 pm U13 C & D v UCS (A)

4.10 pm GDPR Strategy Group meeting in HM study

Tuesday 26th February

Year 8 Revision Week

4.10 pm SLT meeting in HM study

4.10-5 pm Meeting for parents regarding the Hall School Ski Trip in Cooper Hall

5.15 pm 6th Form Society in Cooper Hall

Wedesday 27th February

Year 8 Revision Week

2.15 pm Rugby Year 8 A & 7 A v Thomas’s Battersea (H)

2.30 pm Rugby Year 8 B & Year 7 B v Thomas’s Battersea (A)

2.30 pm Hockey U13 A v Eaton Square School, Mayfair Tournament (A)

2.30 pm Hockey U13 B v Westminster Under School (H)

2.30 pm Rugby Year 8 C v Lyndhurst House School (H)

5.30 pm Chapel Choir Sings Evensong in Southwark Cathedral (rehearsals all afternoon)

Thursday 28th February

Year 8 Revision Week

Blue House Good Deed Day (Make Yourself Useful)

2-3 pm General Knowledge Quiz Championship heat in Cooper Hall

2.30 pm Rugby Year 5 – 4 teams v Wetherby School (A)

5.30 pm Full Governors Meeting in Cooper Hall

Friday 1st March

Year 8 Revision Week

Green House Fundraiser, supporting World Wildlife Day

8.15 am HSPA Year Reps’ meeting in Cooper Hall

9.15-10 am Year 4 Variety Show Performance in MS Hall

2.30 pm HSPA second hand uniform sale in JS Hall

Saturday 2nd March

8.30 am Rugby Year 6 A – Durston House School Tournament (A)

9.30 am Hockey U13 A v Arnold House School (H)

9.30 am Hockey Year 6 A v Arnold House School (H)

9.30 am Rugby Year 8 A & B v Haileybury School (A)

9.30 am Rugby Year 7 A & B v Haileybury School (A)

3.00 pm Hall Takeover – Family Dat out (Saracens v Northampton) at Allianz Park

Sunday 3rd March

Monday 4th March

Instrumental Demos in JS All Week

All day FUZE Coding Workshops for Years 1 to 3 in JS Computing Room

2.30 pm Rugby Year 6 B & C v Lyndhurst House School (H)

4.10 pm Teaching and Learning Strategy Group meeting in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 5th March

Year 8 Mock Exams in Wathen Hall

All day FUZE Coding Workshops for Years 1 to 3 in JS Computing Room

Selected Year 5 & Year 7 boys – Bedford School Chemistry Lecture

8.45 am YEAR 1 Concert Part 1 (1C and first 8 boys from 1M) JS Hall

2 pm Rugby Year 4 Tournament v Arnold House School & North Bridge House School (H)

9-4 pm Year 6 Visit to Verulamium & Welwyn Roman Baths

Wednesday 6th March

Year 8 Mock Exams in Wathen Hall

All day ISTIP Regional Training Day for NQTs in Cooper Hall

8 am JS Parent Rep Meeting in JS Computing Room

8.45 am Year 1 Concert Part 2 (1K and second 8 boys from 1M) JS Hall

1-4 pm Governors Study Day – Mercers’ Company Mercers’ Hall Ironmonger Lane

2.30 pm Rugby Year 8 B v Keble School (H)

2.30 pm Rugby Year 7 B v Wetherby School (A)

2.30 pm Hockey U13 A, B & C v Northbridge House School (H)

4.15 pm Pupils’ Informal Concert Cooper Hall

Thursday 7th March

Year 8 Mock Exams in Wathen Hall

World Book Day

2.30 pm Rugby Year 5 all-play v North Bridge House School (H)

4.30 pm Music Staff Meeting in Music Room 2

5.30 pm Music School Staff/Parents’ evening in Cooper Hall

7 pm Alumni School Dinner in MS Hall

Friday 8th March

Year 8 Mock Exams in Wathen Hall

Walk to School Day

10-4 pm Year 4 History Trip to Verulamium, St Albans

1.25 pm School Council meeting in room 37

Saturday 9th March

1.30 pm Jazz Concert at Pizza Express, Soho (Rehearsals at 10am) Pizza Express, Soho

Sunday 10th March

Monday 11th March

French Erasmus group in school

Instrumental Demos in JS All Week

2.30 pm Rugby Year 6 A, B & C v Devonshire House School (H)

3 pm Hockey U13 A & B v Westminster Under School (A)

4.10 pm TLC meeting in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 12th March

French Erasmus group in school

7.30 am SLT meeting in HM study

8.45 am Year 2 Instrumental Concert Part 1 (2B and first 9 boys from 2T) JS Hall

2.30 pm Rugby Year 4 all-play v Northbridge House School (H)

4.10 pm Calendar meeting in room 28

5-8 pm Year 6 parents’ evening in MS Hall

Wednesday 13th March

French Erasmus group in school

8.45 am Year 2 Instrumental Concert Part 2 (2G and second 9 boys from 2T) JS Hall

2.30 pm Rugby Year 7 A v Devonshire House School (A)

4.15 pm Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall

3.45-7 pm Reception to Year 3 Parents’ Evening in JS

Thursday 14th March

Pi Day

2.30 pm Rugby Year 5 A & B v Arnold House School (H)

4.15 pm Contemporary Informal Concert in Cooper Hall

3.45-7 pm Reception to Year 3 Parents’ Evening in JS

Friday 15th March

Artemis Interschools Ski Challenge, Pila Italy until Wednesday 20th March

All day Year 5 History Trip to Windsor Castle

2 pm Cross Country U13 & Year 6 v Hereward House (A)

Saturday 16th March

8.30 am Rugby Year A v Durston House Tournament (A)

Sunday 17th March

Monday 18th March

Science Week

Science Enrichment project with partnership schools and Year 8 in Wathen Hall and Science Labs

4.10 pm HoDs Meeting in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 19th March

9 am 3S Easter Play in JS Hall

2.30 pm Rugby Year 4 – 4 teams v Wetherby School (H)

4.30-7 pm Science Week Presentation Evening in Wathen Hall

5.15 pm 6th Form Society in Cooper Hall

Wednesday 20th March

ABRSM exams in Cooper Hall all day in Cooper Hall

9 am 3P Easter Play in JS Hall

2.30 pm Rugby Year 8 A & B v Arnold House Tournament (A)

2.30 pm Hockey U13 A & B v Arnold House School Tournament (A)

4.10 pm Safeguarding Committee meeting in HM Study

Thursday 21st March

ABRSM exams in Cooper Hall all day in Cooper Hall

9 am 3W Easter Play in JS Hall

2.30 pm Rugby Year 5 A & B v Devonshire House School (A)

5-8 pm Year 8 parents’ evenings – with boys in MS Hall

Friday 22nd March

ABRSM exams in Cooper Hall all day in Cooper Hall

UKMT Team Maths Challenge (one team of 4 pupils) at City of London School

The Hall’s Great British Bake Off

Saturday 23rd March

Sunday 24th March

Monday 25th March

4.10 pm MS/SS Staff meeting in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 26th March

7.30 am SLT meeting in HM Study

6 pm Gala Concert (Rehearsals all day) Cadogan Hall

Wednesday 27th March

2.20 pm Senior School Cross Country in Regents Park

Thursday 28th March

Year 7 trip to Iceland departs

Ski trip departs to Salzburger Sportwelt, Austria

2.20 pm Middle School Cross Country in Regents Park

Friday 29th March

8.45 am JS Special Assembly in MS Hall

9 am Rugby Year 8 – Rosslyn Park 7’s (A)

11 am MS/SS Special Assembly in Wathen Hall

12.15 pm TERM ENDS

12.45 pm Staff lunch

4 pm Year 4 Full reports published

Saturday 30th March

Sunday 31st March

Monday 1st April

Tuesday 2nd April

Wednesday 3rd April

Ski trip returns from Austria