1

Autumn Term Calendar 2019

Monday 2nd September

Staff meetings and INSET
Library audit
Ski Squad Trials at Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn all day

Tuesday 3rd September

Staff meetings and INSET
Library audit
Ski Squad Trials at Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn all day
2-4 pm Music tour of South Africa rehearsals at Wilf Slack

Wednesday 4th September

TERM BEGINS
Library audit
2 pm Football 1st XI & 2nd XI – trials (H)

Thursday 5th September

Individual music lessons begin in JS/MS/SS
10.00-10.35 am Year 5 ASC sign up in Wathen Hall
10.35-11.10 am Senior School ASC sign up in Wathen Hall

Friday 6th September

9.00 am Start of Year Service at St Peter’s Church, Belsize Park
Reception boys home at midday

Saturday 7th September

9.30 am Football 1st XI & Year 6A at the Arnold House Tournament

Sunday 8th September

Monday 9th September

Supervised prep and activities start in MS and SS
Music Ensemble rehearsals begin
2.15 pm Football Year 6 all-play v North Bridge House School (A)
2.30 pm Football 1st XI, 2nd XI & 3rd XI v City of London School (H)
4.10 pm SLT in HM study

Tuesday 10th September

Morning only Year 6 Team Building Day in Wathen Hall
2.30 pm Football Year 4 all-play v Arnold House School (A)
6.45 pm Parents’ Evening for Reception and Year 1 with class teachers in JS
7.30 pm Drinks for Reception and Year 1 parents in MS Hall

Wednesday 11th September

11.00 am ABRSM closing dates for entries (half term exams)
2.15 pm Interleague all-play v North Bridge House School (A)
6.45 pm Music talk for parents: A-Z of The Hall Music School for Year 4 and new parents in MS Hall

Thursday 12th September

Harrow Assessment afternoon for 2020 candidates
6.45 pm Parents’ Evening for Year 2 and Year 3 with class teachers in JS
7.30 pm Scout Executive Committee meeting in room 27
7.30 pm Drinks for Year 2 and Year 3 parents in MS Hall

Friday 13th September

MUFTI Day for BAFTA winners
9.30 am Y6A St George’s Park Football Trip
1.30 pm Extended SLT Meeting
2.30-4.00 pm HSPA sale of second hand uniform in JS Hall

Saturday 14th September

1-4 pm HSPA Welcome Back Family Picnic at Wilf Slack
4.00 pm Y6 St George’s Park Football Trip Returns

Sunday 15th September

ESSKIA National championships Qualifying Race at Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn

Monday 16th September

After School Activities start in the JS
2.15 pm Football 1st XI Vinehall – ISFA Cup 1st Round (A)
2.30 pm Football 4th XI & InterlVO & InterESP v City of London (H)
2.30 pm Football Year 6 all-play v Wetherby Prep School (A)
4.10 pm HoDs meeting followed by Academic HoDs in Cooper Hall
6.45 pm Meeting for parents of pupils in Years 4-8 followed by drinks in MS Hall
6.45 pm Year 6 parents’ meeting in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 17th September

9.00-11.30 am Year 1 Freshwater Drama workshop in Junior school Hall
2.15 pm Football Year 4 all-play v North Bridge House School (A)
4.10 pm Digital Learning Strategy Group meeting in HM study

Wednesday 18th September

Year 3 Greek Day in JS Hall
2.30 pm Football 1st XI v Aldenham School (H)
2.30 pm Football 2nd XI & 3rd XI v Beechwood School (A)
2.30 pm Football 4th XI & InterGER v Beechwood School (H)
2.30 pm Football Year 6 A & C v Beechwood School (H)
2.30 pm Football Year 6 B, D & E v Beechwood School (A)
4.15 pm Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall

Thursday 19th September

7.30 am SLT in HM study
2.15 pm Football Year 5 all-play v North Bridge House School (A)
5 pm Year 7 Iceland 2020 trip – information meeting in Cooper Hall

Friday 20th September

Green Transport Day

Saturday 21st September

Sunday 22nd September

Monday 23rd September

Harvest Festival Week – supporting the Upper Room charity
for the homeless
4.10 pm L&T strategy group in RM 38

Tuesday 24th September

Harrow Assessment afternoon for 2021 candidates
7.30 am SLT in HM study
2.15 pm Football Year 5 A & D v Hereward House School (H)
4.10 pm Safeguarding Meeting in HM Study

Wednesday 25th September

Year 8 Swanage trip (Science/Geography)
8.00 am Parent Rep meeting in JS Computing room
2.30 pm Football 1st XI, 3rd XI, Year 6 C & D v Orley Farm School (A)
2.30 pm Football 2nd XI, Year 6 A & B v Orley Farm School (H)
4.00 pm ABRSM closing date for entries (end of term exams)

Thursday 26th September

Year 8 Swanage trip (Science/Geography)
2.15 pm Football Year 5 all-play v Highgate School (H)

Friday 27th September

Year 8 Swanage trip (Science/Geography)
3.30-4.30 pm The Hall School Bake Sale (in aid of MacMillan) in Middle School Hall
4.00-5.00 pm Rehearsals for the Music Tour to South Africa in Cooper Hall

Saturday 28th September

Sunday 29th September

Monday 30th September

All day BISS National Indoor Ski Championships at Hemel Snow Centre
2.15 pm Football Year 6 all-play v Highgate School (A)
4.10 pm TLC in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 1st October

9.00-3.30 pm Next Steps’ Tours with prospective parents all day
1.30-4.00 pm Year 7 Shakespeare Festival (Hamlet) workshop at The Pleasance Theatre
2.30 pm Football Year 4 A, B, C & D v Wetherby Prep School (H)
4.10 pm SLT meeting in HM study

Wednesday 2nd October

2.30 pm Football 1st XI, 2nd XI, InterIVO & InterGER v Wetherby Prep School (H)
2.30 pm Football 3rd XI, 4th XI, InterESP & InterARG v Wetherby Prep School (A)
4.10 pm French Exchange meeting in Cooper Hall
5.00-8.00 pm Year 6 Parents’ Evening in MS Hall

Thursday 3rd October

All day Daunt Book Fair in JS Hall
1.00 pm Football Year 4 A at Lochinver House School Tournament (A)
2.30 pm Football Year 5 A, B, C & D v Arnold House School (H)
5.00 pm Chapel Choir Evensong (rehearsals pm) at St Michael’s Church Highgate
5.30 pm Governors meeting at Tallow Chandlers
7.30 pm Staff & Governors’ dinner at Tallow Chandlers

Friday 4th October

Morning only Year 7 Street Art Tour
9.30 am – 3.15 pm 4D Southwark Cathedral Outing
1.00 pm Football 1st XI 6 a-side Wetherby Prep School Tournament (A)
1.25 pm School Council meeting in room 37
2.30 pm Year 7 Maths Activity at Merchant Taylors’ School (for selected boys only)
4.00-5.00 pm Rehearsals for Music Tour of South Africa in Cooper Hall

Saturday 5th October

8.30 am Football 1st XI IAPS 6-a-side at Chigwell (A)

Sunday 6th October

Monday 7th October

Open Homework Week in JS
All day Year 5 Music & History enrichment trip to Handel House
All day Museum and Westminster Abbey
2.30 pm Football Interleague all-play v Westminster Under School (H)
4.10 pm Digital Learning Strategy Group in HM study

Tuesday 8th October

Year 3 Instrumental Concert Part 1
7.30 am SLT in HM study
8.45 am Year 3 Instumental Concert in JS Hall
2.30 pm Football Year 4 all-play v Arnold House School (H)

Wednesday 9th October

8.45 am Year 3 Instrumental Concert in JS Hall
1.30 pm Football 1st XI at Devonshire House School Tournament (A)
2.15 pm Football 2nd XI, 3rd XI, 4th XI, InterIVO & InterARG v North Bridge House School (A)
4.15 pm Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall

Thursday 10th October

Year 8 French Exchange Trip departs from St Pancras Eurostar to Lille
Year 3 Instrumental Concert Part 2
9.00 am-3.30 pm Next Steps Tours for prospective parents all day in JS
5.15 pm Cooper Reading Competition in MS Hall
6.45 pm Meeting for Music Tour of South Africa

Friday 11th October

8.15 am HSPA MS/SS Year Reps’ meeting in Cooper Hall
9.30 am-3.15 pm 4M and 4E Southwark Cathedral Outing
4.00-5.00 pm Rehearsals for Music Tour of South Africa in Cooper Hall

Saturday 12th October

8.30 am Year 3 A, Year 4 A & Year 5 A – The Hall School Football Festival (H)

Sunday 13th October

Year 8 French Exchange trip returns to St Pancras
Eurostar terminal

Monday 14th October

Purple House Initiatives Week
All day ABRSM exams in Cooper Hall
2.30 pm Football Year 6 B v Hendon Prep School (H)
4.10 pm MS/SS staff meeting in MS Hall
7.00 pm Music Tour of South Africa farewell Concert in Wathen Hall

Tuesday 15th October

All day Ryman’s Challenge for Year 8 in Wathen Hall
9.00 am-3.30 pm Next Steps Tours for prospective Parents all day in JS Hall
2.15 pm Football Year 4 A, B, C & D v Hereward House School (H)
4.30 pm Music Staff meeting in Music Room 2
5.30 pm Music staff/parent meeting in Cooper Hall

Wednesday 16th October

2.30 pm Football 3rd XI & 4th XI v Durston House School (A)
2.45 pm Football 1st XI & 2nd XI v Durston House School (H)
4.15-7.45 pm Year 4 Parents’ Evening in MS Hall

Thursday 17th October

Afternoon Year 5 Partnership school Science Enrichment with Edith Neville Primary in the Science Labs
9.30-12.30 pm Flu vaccine (nasal spray) for Years 4, 5 & 6 in School
4.10 pm SLT meeting in HM study
5.00-8.00 pm Year 5 Parents’ Evening in MS Hall
6.10 pm Music Tour of South Africa departs from LHR

Friday 18th October

8.15 am Senior School Development Briefing in Cooper Hall
1.45-3.50 pm Senior School House Quiz (Years 6 – 8) in MS Hall and Cooper Hall

Saturday 19th October

Sunday 20th October

Monday 21st October

HALF TERM

Saturday 26th October

Sunday 27th October

Monday 28th October

6.25 am Music Tour of South Africa arrives at Heathrow
2.30 pm Football Year 6 all-play v Arnold House School (A)
4.10 pm Health and Safety meeting TBC

Tuesday 29th October

7.30 am SLT meeting in HM study
All morning Year 6 Drug and Alcohol awareness workshop in Wathen Hall
9 am-3.30 pm Next Step Tours for prospective parents all day in JS

Wednesday 30th October

2.30 pm Football 1st XI & 2nd XI v Arnold House School (H)
2.30 pm Football 3rd XI & 4th XI v Arnold House School (A)
5.00-8.00 pm Year 8 Parents’ Evening with boys in MS Hall

Thursday 31st October

1.30-5.00 pm Technical rehearsal and dress rehearsal for Hamlet at The Pleasance Theatre
2.30 pm Football Year 5 A, B, C & D v St Anthony’s School (H)
2.30 pm Football Year 4 all-play v Keble School (A)
4.15-5.15 pm Sixth Form Society in Cooper Hall
7.00-10.00 pm Year 7 School’s Shakespeare Festival performance of Hamlet (actors to arrive at 6.00 pm) at The Pleasance Theatre

Friday 1st November

8.30 am-4.00 pm Year 5 Battle of Hastings Trip
2.30-4.00 pm HSPA sale of second hand uniform in JS Hall

Saturday 2nd November

6.00 pm HSPA Firework event at Wilf Slack

Sunday 3rd November

Monday 4th November

All week Blue House Fundraiser
Year 8 Revision Week
2.30 pm Football 3rd XI & 4th XI v Westminster Under School (H)
3.00 pm Football 1st XI & 2nd XI v Westminster Under School (A)
4.10 pm GDPR Group Strategy meeting in HM study

Tuesday 5th November

All week Year 8 Revision Week
8.45 am Year 2 Instrumental Concert Part 1 in JS Hall
2.15 pm Football Year 4 all-play v North Bridge House School (H)

Wednesday 6th November

All week Year 8 Revision Week
8.45 am Year 2 Instrumental Concert Part 2 in JS Hall
2.30 pm Football 1st XI & 2nd XI v Lochinver House School (A)
2.30 pm Football 3rd XI & 4th XI v Lochinver House School (H)
5.00 pm ABRSM Music Theory Exam in school

Thursday 7th November

All week Year 8 Revision Week
10.00-12.30 pm Maths enrichment day in Cooper Hall
2.30 pm Football Year 5 all-play v Wetherby Prep School (A)
5.30 pm Governors’ Finance Committee meeting in HM study
7.00 pm Lecture@TheHall Camilla Cavendish in MS Hall

Friday 8th November

All week Year 8 Revision Week

Saturday 9th November

Sunday 10th November

Monday 11th November

Open Homework Week for Years 4, 5 and 7
All week PMC in maths lessons for Years 5 and 6
10.45 am Service of Remembrance for Years 4 to 8 at St Mary’s Church, Primrose Hill
4.10 pm SLT meeting in HM study

Tuesday 12th November

Tuesday to Friday Year 8 mock exams

Wednesday 13th November

Tuesday to Friday Year 8 mock exams
2.15 pm Football 2nd XI & 3rd XI v St Anthony’s School (H)
2.15 pm Football 4th XI & InterESP v St Anthony’s School (A)
2.15 pm Football InterARG, InterIVO & InterGER v Devonshire House School (A)
2.30 pm Football 1st XI at Arnold House Tournament (A)
2.30 pm Football Year 6 A, B & C v Lochinver House School (A)
2.30 pm Football Year 6 D, E & F v Lochinver House School (H)
4.15 pm Pupils’ Informal Concert in Cooper Hall

Thursday 14th November

Tuesday to Friday Year 8 mock exams
All day Year 6 trip Centre of the Cell
2.15 pm Football Year 5 all-play v North Bridge House School (H)

Friday 15th November

Tuesday to Friday Year 8 mock exams
12.30 pm Football Year 3 – 14 boys at Westminster Tournament

Saturday 16th November

Sunday 17th November

Monday 18th November

No music lessons for Year 6 this week
All week Music competition heats during class music lessons (MS AND SS)
2.15 pm Football Year 6 A & B v St Anthony’s School (A)
2.15 pm Football Year 6 C, D, E & F v St Anthony’s School (H)
3.00 pm Football Interleague all-play v Westminster School (A)
4.10 pm Digital Learning Strategy Group in HM study

Tuesday 19th November

7.30 am SLT meeting in HM study
3.45-7.00 pm Reception to Year 3 Parents’ Evening in JS
5.00-8.00 pm Year 7 Parents’ Evening in MS Hall

Wednesday 20th November

All morning Year 5 Healthy Living workshop in Cooper Hall
3.45-7.00 pm Reception to Year 3 Parents’ Evening in JS

Thursday 21st November

2.45 pm Football Year 4, A, B C & D v Westbrook Hay School (A)
5.30 pm Governors’ meeting in Cooper Hall

Friday 22nd November

10-12.30 am Maths Quiz & Design Project Partnership Event in Cooper Hall
1.25 pm School Council meeting in room 37

Saturday 23rd November

8.30 am Football 1st XI & Year 6A at Durston House School Tournament

Sunday 24th November

Monday 25th November

Morning Assembly Semi final rounds for Outstanding Musician 2019 in Assembly
4.10 pm HoDs meeting followed by Academic HoDs in Cooper Hall
5.00 pm Chapel Choir Evensong (rehearsal in the afternoon) at St Pauls Cathedral

Tuesday 26th November

Morning Assembly Semi final rounds for Outstanding Musician 2019 Assembly
Morning only Year 5 + Partnership Schools French Play in Wathen Hall
11.30 am Science Quiz Club at Alexandra Palace Theatre
2.15 pm Football Year 4 A, B, C & D v Devonshire House School (H)
2.30 pm Football Year 5 B v Hendon Prep School (H)
4.10 pm Calendar meeting in room 28

Wednesday 27th November

9.30 am Year 6 Music and History workshop at Wilf Slack
Morning Assembly Semi final rounds for Outstanding Musician 2019 in Assembly
4.15 pm Pupils’ Informal concert in Cooper Hall
6.45 pm HSPA AGM in MS Hall

Thursday 28th November

Morning Assembly Semi final rounds for Outstanding Musician 2019 in Assembly
2.30 pm Football Year 5 A, B, C & D v Arnold House School
4.10 pm SLT meeting in HM study
5.30 pm Senior School Concert in Wathen Hall

Friday 29th November

8.15 am Senior School Development Briefing in Cooper Hall
9.30-11.30 am Junior School Panto – The Boy Who Cried Wolf – Tutti Frutti Theatre Company in Wathen Hall
2.15 pm The Hall Outstanding Musician Final (Middle school) in MS Hall

Saturday 30th November

Sunday 1st December

Monday 2nd December

Final week of ASC in MS and SS for Years 5 to 8
All day ABRSM Exams in Cooper Hall
2.15 pm Football SS House matches
4.10 pm MS/SS staff meeting in Cooper Hall

Tuesday 3rd December

All day ABRSM Exams in Cooper Hall
2.15pm Football MS House matches

Wednesday 4th December

All day ABRSM Exams in Cooper Hall
9.00 am Year 1 Christmas Play in JS Hall
2.15 pm Football SS House matches

Thursday 5th December

Year 8 French Exchange group arrives
Young Shakespeare Company Year 6 in Cooper Hall
9.00 am Year 1 Christmas Play in JS Hall
2.15 pm Football MS House matches
5.30 pm The Hall Outstanding Musician Final (Senior School) in Cooper Hall

Friday 6th December

8.15 am HSPA MS/SS Year Reps’ meeting in Cooper Hall
9.00 am JS Carol Service at St Peter’s Church, Belsize Square

Saturday 7th December

Sunday 8th December

Year 8 French Exchange group departs London

Monday 9th December

No ASC this week
Spring term games options begin

Tuesday 10th December

7.30 am SLT meeting in HM study
9.00 am Reception Christmas Play in JS Hall
Rugby training

Wednesday 11th December

1.45-3.50 pm Middle School House Quiz (Years 4 – 5) in MS Hall Spring term games options begin

Thursday 12th December

2.30 pm MS and SS Carol Service at St Mary’s Church, Primrose Hill Rugby training

Friday 13th December

Christmas Jumper Day
8.45 am JS Special Assembly in MS Hall
11.00 am MS/SS Special Assembly in Wathen Hall
12.15 pm TERM ENDS
1.00 pm Staff lunch
Year 4 & 6 Progress Reports and Year 8 Full Reports published